Admin Login

Three New Members, Returning Board Members Take on USCC Leadership

December 2, 2014

Bethesda, MD (Dec. 2, 2014) The U.S. Composting Council (USCC) announces election results for the 2015 Board of Directors. Four board members return and three new perspectives come to the US Composting Council board.

Clayton Leonard, New Earth Inc. was appointed to fill a slot being vacated by a departing board member; Tim Goodman, Natureworks; and Robert Michtisch, a professor at the University of Wisconsin Stevens, Point Soils Department were elected to openings on the Board; and Patrick Geraty, St. Louis Composting; Wayne King Sr., Erth Products, and Jeff Ziegenbein, Inland Regional Compost Authority and consultant Matt Cotton will return to the board for another term.

“We are thrilled to have these new voices and experts on the board,” said Lorrie Loder, President of the Council. “They will strengthen a board that is already committed to moving the industry and the use of compost forward in the US at a time when communities everywhere are turning to composting as the next-wave solution for waste minimization.”

Election “turnout” by the USCC’s 800 members was at an all-time high, with a 58% increase in participation over past averages. “Our industry is strong, and our association reflects that,” said interim Executive Director Al Rattie.

The board has also elected its new officers, who will begin their term January 1. The new President is Rod Tyler, Filtrexx, Inc.; Vice President, Patrick Geraty, St. Louis Composting; Treasurer-Brian Fleury, WeCare Organics; Secretary-Rhodes Yepsen, Novamont; and immediate Past President Lorrie Loder, Synagro.

“We are appreciative of all of the hard work provided by department board members,” Ms. Loder said. Three members are leaving the board, including Ron Alexander, R Alexander and Associates; Mike Whitt, consultant, and Sally Brown, University of Washington.

The board members take on their new roles January 1, 2015.

USCC Elections
download attachment